One of the first companies to offer cloud storage is Dropbox. They were in the foreground of the movement of online storage, yet as there are many followers. You can also find many alternatives that offer more security and better features.
If you are like the many and want to see how to delete Dropbox account, you can do so in this quick guide.
By the end, you’ll see how to deactivate Dropbox, cancel your subscription and permanently delete your Dropbox account, be it the Dropbox basic or not.
How Do I Delete My Dropbox Team Account?
If you decided to cancel a Dropbox Business subscription and created your team before February 2018, your team could turn into a free team come the end of your billing period.
Team admin stays the same, and you can access all your files and folders.
Should you be deleting your Dropbox account, when you leave a free team, you lose shared folder and file access.
If connected to a personal account, work files will be moved to your personal account. (Read Cancel ExpressVPN)
If you want to delete account for a free team personally:
- Log in using your team credentials at dropbox.com/team.
- Click on Leave team.
If you want to close Dropbox account for an entire team, all team members are removed, and their accounts are converted to a personal Dropbox basic account.
- Sign in with your team admin account.
- Go to dropbox.com/team/settings.
- Click Delete team.
Does Dropbox Delete Inactive Accounts?
If you are unsure how to delete your Dropbox account, you can leave it alone if it is basic. Dropbox does the hard work and will delete a Dropbox account after 90 days after a period of 12 months of inactivity.
Just be sure to select all your files and download them, or you’ll find them deleted with the rest of your Dropbox folder, and you lose access.
How Do I Unsubscribe from Dropbox?
To cancel your Dropbox subscription:
- Sign in to dropbox. com
- Click on your account avatar, profile picture, or your initials in the top-right corner.
- Click ‘Settings’
- Click on Plan
- Select ‘Cancel plan’ to the bottom of the page
- If you can’t see ‘Cancel or delete account,’ you may have purchased the Dropbox app with your mobile device rather than your computer.
- If so, you’ll need to cancel your plan from the app store for your device.
- Select and give a reason for cancelling your account (to help Dropbox)
- Click ‘Continue cancelling.’ You’ll get a confirmation email your subscription has been cancelled.
How Do I Permanently Delete Dropbox?
When you want to know how to delete a Dropbox account, you can follow these instructions here.
- Open Dropbox. com with your web browser and sign in with your Dropbox account details.
- Click on your user icon in the upper right-hand corner and select ‘Settings’
- Scroll down. Click the Delete account button from the bottom right-hand corner of your screen.
- On the following page, you need to re-enter your password and select a reason for leaving. You can then click ‘Delete account’
- Your account will now be deleted. If you had the desktop app, you can now uninstall that.
If deleting Dropbox is that too much space is used, you need to stop syncing your files before doing anything else.
- Right-click on the tertiary menu in the system tray
- Select the gear icon and select preferences from the new tertiary menu
- Select sync and in the tertiary menu and select selective sync on your computer
- Uncheck any folders you don’t want to sync.
If you have any files that sync from your desktop to your Dropbox folder, the files stay in the Dropbox folder on your desktop when you delete your account.
However, if you have files in your Dropbox folder in the cloud, you will lose access when you delete your account.
It is far safer to download all your files and remove these files from your Dropbox folder to another folder on your computer
You can then close your account without losing any of your data.
If you deleted Dropbox because you have better security, you should get a VPN like the rest of the internet community to beef up your security.
How to delete a Dropbox account is straightforward, and you will need to keep your data secure between your device and your cloud storage.
A VPN encrypts all your data, and all they ask for when you sign up are an email address and a payment method. (Read our Best VPN Services Reviews)
You don’t need to mess about with open-close menu on your computer to use them, and you can have your VPN select the optimal connection for your regular browsing activities or file uploading or download files.
Whichever alternative you use after you delete your account from Dropbox.com, you won’t need to stop syncing files as you know they are encrypted, and no one can read their contents.