How to Delete Amazon Account

It does not matter for what reason you want to delete your Amazon account from existence. You will find that many people do the same.

It could be because you are moving to another country, or you are tired of the business side of how Amazon works and want to delete all the information the company has about you.

You will be surprised how much information the company has, and it is a good idea to delete it before you close your Amazon account.

Tips on Deleting Amazon Account

You need to understand what deleting your account means because there may be much more involved than you may realize.

If you are sure that you want to close your account, here are the following easy to understand instructions to do so quickly.

What Happens Once I Close Amazon Account?

By correctly closing your account, it is no longer accessible to either you or any other person. The same applies to Amazon employees and support staff who lose access.

Therefore, if you close your account and think it is a mistake, you need to create a new account.

Nor does this end with the basic Amazon Prime account you use to purchase a bunch of stuff during those sales (Black Friday and Cyber Monday).

Everything means you may not be able to use other things; here is a breakdown of things you can lose the chance to use.

  • Amazon gift cards, open orders or balance in credit on your account
  • Smart home devices – an account Amazon needs for these to work
  • Refunds or unprocessed returns
  • Account history, which will include credit card information order history and purchase history along with reviews or discussion posts, among others.
  • Digital content, which comes from Prime Video, Prime Photos, Music, or Amazon Drive. You can add to this with any app-store purchases. All this will be deleted, and you cannot recover any of it.
  • Sites that use or require the use of Amazon accounts to function. Turks, Amazon Associates, AWS (Amazon Web Services), Kindle Direct, or Amazon Pay.

The above is a broad selection of what you can lose when deleting your Amazon account. You will need to be sure you can survive without any of these before carrying on to delete Amazon account.

How to Delete an Amazon Account

When you look at how to delete your Amazon account, it may appear there are many steps. However, it is more straightforward than it first seems to close your account permanently.

1. Cancelling Open Orders

The first step is to cancel or receive and pay for any outstanding orders you may have before you begin to close the account. You cannot delete your account unless all your orders are clear.

  1. If you want to cancel, you have to head to the Amazon website.
  2. Log in to the account you want to close
  3. Hover over ‘accounts & lists,’ and then select sign in from the drop-down menu
  4. Add your login details then click sign in
  5. To cancel any orders, select ‘orders’ to the top right and click on ‘open orders.’ If you have, any orders outstanding, select ‘request cancelation’ to the right of each order.

2. Delete an Amazon Account

Amazon does not display anywhere to permanently delete your account.

  1. To start the process, scroll to the bottom of the page
  2. Select ‘Help’ inside the ‘Let us help you’ section
  3. Scroll again to ‘Browse help Topics.’ Click on ‘Need More Help?’
  4. On the left column, you can see the options to the right select ‘contact us.’ Starting in 2019, how to close Amazon account became more comfortable and you can contact Amazon customer service using their phone number.
  5. In the ‘tell us more’ click on ‘account settings,’ and then ‘close my account’ in the second part.
  6. The next step asks if you wish to communicate with the Chatbot. Cancel by chatting with the bot first.
  7. Inform the bot you want to shut the Amazon account
  8. From the three options, select ‘login & security.’ The bot will ask if you want an Amazon representative, you can chat with customer service via email, phone, or chat.
  9. You can then tell the customer support representative you wish to close your account. Amazon’s customer support send an ETA to your email address when they will shut the account. It can range from immediately or up to 48 hours.

Keep your Account Safe in Amazon

Alternatives to Closing Your Account

You may have spent a considerable amount on Amazon’s books, videos, and other stuff. Because of this, you may wish to keep your account safe while just cancelling your Prime Membership.

First, delete all credit card details or PayPal details. Here are the steps to do this

  1. Access your Amazon account and navigate to ‘My Account’
  2. On the left of the page, click ‘Payment Methods’
  3. Select the down arrows associated with each payment option. Click ‘Remove’ and then select ‘Confirm’
  4. A pop-up asks the card to use as default. Select ‘Cancel and you can carry on deleting payment methods.

It is possible to delete associated addresses to your account.

  1. Navigate to ‘My Accounts’ page
  2. Select ‘Your Address’
  3. Select ‘Remove’ associated with each address
  4. Select ‘Yes’ to confirm in the box

This stops anyone accessing any personal information or ordering stuff without you knowing.

Your account remains active, yet to anyone else, it will appear that you did deactivate Amazon account. There will be no payment or shipping information connected to the account, so it remains as a holding area for any content you bought and need an account to access

How to Delete Amazon Account