Like many hordes of other individuals, you may decide it’s time to give social media a break.
You can have multiple reasons, such as you no longer feel the thrill of microblogging; it’s a business Twitter account you no longer need or want to start over.
The reasons are irrelevant, but what you should be aware of is that Twitter uses user data the same as any other social media platform. It is used to improve the content and know which ads to show and improve their marketing.
Much of this is why many ask how to delete a Twitter account and be done with it. If you want to know how to delete your Twitter account, you can go through the following guide and see how easy Twitter makes it to delete your account.
By the end, you will know how to enable account deactivation, change your username and profile, reactivate your account, or permanently delete your Twitter account.
You can delete Twitter and be free from its tweets’ distractions.
How Twitter Exposes You
When using Twitter, the good news is that they don’t actively abuse user privacy as much as many other social media platforms do. However, this doesn’t mean they don’t glean information and do things, which don’t have their user’s interests at heart.
- Account Details: Name, address, tel number, email address, and passwords are recorded
- Payment Details: If you pay for any service, which Twitter owns, they record these transactions along with your payment details. However, you can ask to have these deleted.
- Locations: Whenever you tweet, the locations are recorded, and they build up a movement profile to see areas you visit regularly.
- Contact Details: Users synching addresses or contacts with Twitter give the company the details of every person they know.
Is Deactivating Twitter the Same as Deleting?
You may decide to deactivate your Twitter account rather than delete your Twitter account. However, you may not be aware that when you deactivate an account, you signalling Twitter, you wish to delete your Twitter account.
When you delete Twitter, it removes your data from the website and places your request in a queue ready for your account to be permanently deleted.
If you reach the 30 days, then the delete Twitter process begins, which could take up to a week to delete your account. (Learn How To Delete Multiple Instagram Photos)
What Happens on Account Deactivation?
When Twitter deletes your account, your data is erased. Tweets, followers, favourites, among other things, are lost forever. Besides, anyone can create a new account using your old Twitter username.
When you delete Twitter, it can’t control any links that may appear in Google or other search engines. You can ask for this to be taken down if you wish.
Here are the steps if you want to know how to deactivate my account. (Read About Opera Browser VPN)
Remember: When you select to deactivate your Twitter account, you need to sign in with a web browser as you can’t use the Twitter app to delete Twitter.
- Navigate to your account settings.
- Click on your profile picture beside the search bar.
- Select ‘Settings and Privacy from the drop-down menu.
- Click ‘Deactivate my account’ at the bottom of the page
- Make sure to read any account deactivation information to the bottom before you confirm your decision. If you are satisfied, Click ‘Deactivate’ (your Twitter username)
- Enter your password and click to confirm that you want to deactivate your account and delete Twitter.
Now all you have to do is wait for Twitter to delete your account.
If you want to change your username or email address, deactivating your account won’t be needed to change them. Head to your account settings, where you can edit them. You may need to search if the username is taken.
What If I Don’t Want to Delete My Twitter Account?
If you want your Twitter account inside the 30 days deactivation period, log in, and your account will be reactivated.
However, should the 30-day period pass, you won’t get your account back. You can create a new one if the Twitter name hasn’t been used. Note, you can’t access the tweets, followers, and favourites from the first account. (Read Refund ExpressVPN)
How Do You Delete an Old Twitter Account?
You can’t deactivate on mobile devices, and you have to do this from the right page on Twitter. com and access your account, Twitter won’t let you do it from the app.
- In your top left menu, tap your profile icon. Tap ‘Settings and privacy.’
- Tap Account, and tap ‘Deactivate your account at the bottom of the page
- Read any account deactivation information before you tap ‘Deactivate.’
- Enter your password and tap ‘Deactivate’ your account
- Confirm that you wish to proceed and tap ‘Yes, deactivate.’
How Do I Permanently Delete My Twitter?
Here’s the way to access your account, Twitter delete instructions are for desktop and Android and iOS
Delete Twitter on desktop
- Sign in to your account on the Twitter website
- Select Settings and Privacy in the more menu
- In the Account section of the menu, click Deactivate your account
- Click Deactivate at the bottom of the page
- Enter your password and email address when prompted and (again) click Deactivate the account.
Delete Twitter on Android and iOS
- Tap either your profile icon or the hamburger menu at the top left of the screen
- Select Settings and Privacy menu. Tap Account
- Hit the ‘Deactivate Your Account’
- Tap Deactivate at the bottom of the page
- Enter your password and tap ‘Deactivate’ when prompted
Tap ‘Yes, Deactivate’
All these steps still allow you to reactivate your account if you login in the 30 day period. None of your tweets is available until then, and you can’t be seen in a search by one of your friends or followers.
If you go past the 30 days, you will automatically delete your Twitter account and lose all your tweets and followers.
One of the best ways to prevent Twitter from logging data, especially your location, is to use a VPN service. You can hide your IP address and have a new one from a VPN server.
Once you do this, you can appear anywhere, and ads won’t be relevant to your location demographic.
Read more How-to Delete Guides